fuzz face with low pass

Started by Austrian, September 22, 2017, 10:27:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Austrian

Hello guys,

I'm new here and I have a question.

How can I implement a low pass filter with a fuzz face?

You have a schematic?

patrick398

This is a pretty nifty tool for calculating the corner frequency of either low pass or highpass RC filters.
http://www.muzique.com/schem/filter.htm

I'm pretty new to this too so not sure exactly where you'd put it...my guess would be near the input...but then all the bass frequencies would go through the gain stage and it might sound muddy/wooly. How about splitting the signal so certain frequencies go through the gain stages. With low pass avoiding the gain stages and then blend at the output? I don't really know what i'm talking about i'm just thinking out loud ha.

antonis

Hi & Wellcome...

Of course you can do that but WHY..??
(do you have RF interference..??)

P.S.
Whatever you implement, take care of PS polarity..  :icon_wink:
"I'm getting older while being taught all the time" Solon the Athenian..
"I don't mind  being taught all the time but I do mind a lot getting old" Antonis the Thessalonian..

patrick398

Here's what i'd do(om). Make the input cap bigger, say 10u, then try a loss pass just before the volume. Stick it on a breadboard and fiddle with RC combinations until you get something you like

GibsonGM

It'll make your level lower due to insertion loss.    There isn't much different about an R-C at the output of the fuzz (anything at all, actually) than rolling back the tone knob on your guitar, which is also just an R-C filter...

What I would do if I wanted this functionality would be to try a tilt control (a Big Muff tone control), followed by a recovery stage just like in the Big Muff, then your volume pot (just like the Muff, again).  Might as well go for the gold, right?   Then you can set one side to be very bass heavy/no treble, and the other total treble - with one tone knob.