Jen Double Sound wah/fuzz - faulty construction?

Started by Halkbi, September 25, 2017, 06:15:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Halkbi

Warning: first post ahead  ;)

Some time ago I aquired a vintage Jen Double Sound wah with a built-in fuzz circuit. This is the same pedal that John Wetton used in his King Crimson days and I mainly got it for the wah part (which according to my research is the same thing as the italian made Vox Crybaby). I just recentry got the sweep position right and I'm really satisfied with what the wah does. The fuzz circuit sounds cool too (which I believe is a fuzzface kind of thing), but things get weird when both the fuzz and the wah are engaged at the same time. I'm no expert in audio electronics, but to me it sounds sort of as if the clean signal is running in parallel with the fuzz signal, resulting in a noticable volume drop and a very odd and "broken" kind of sound that could suggest some phase issues. This is not how a wah and fuzz (pre or post wah) would typically sound.

Here's a shitty clip that I recorded with my phone for the sake of reference. I'm playing a four bar riff on a telecaster into an old Peavey tube amp twice per sound in the following order: clean, wah, fuzz, wah+fuzz and just wah.

https://soundcloud.com/halkbi/jen-double-sound/s-OEIqc

What do you guys think is the issue here? Like I said I'm perfectly happy with the wah on it's own, but it just bugs me that I can't use both effects on the same time and given that I don't have a fuzz right now it sure would save me some money to get it fully functioning.

Here's a schematic: http://www.franksmusic.homecall.co.uk/jen_doublesoundsuper/JDSSschem.png

Kipper4

Well In my humble opinion it sounds like I'd expect a fuzz face into a wah to sound.
I could be wrong I'm not much of a fuzz user.
It would make sense to put the fuzz before the wah. I cant see the schematic the page won't load.