L-pad attenuator - smoke

Started by christien, September 29, 2017, 04:57:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

christien

I've built an l-pad attenuator to go between my amp and speaker cabinet.  I'm a complete newbie at this (modified my TS9 successfully, but that was my first project), and I only have a basic understanding of this stuff.  Anyway, I hooked it up today, and the l-pad started smoking.  I've read that a bit of smoke when brand new isn't uncommon, but this kept going for over 5 minutes, which seems long to me.  I did have the l-pad cranked so the volume was really low - maybe 1 or 2 notches from silence.

The head is a Traynor YBA (1974, so pre-master-fader) running into a Marshall 4x12 cab.  The amp is (as far as I know) 50 watts (doesn't say anything, just learned that from google - some claim 40w).  It's 8 ohms, as is the cabinet.  I bought a 100w 8-ohm L-pad (Parts express part # 260-262) so the numbers all look proper.

Am I just drawing off too much sound for the l-pad to take?  Would it be fine at higher output volumes?  Or does it take 20 minutes or so to stop smoking?

Thanks for any help with this.

PRR

Welcome.

PE does not say so, but that L-pad wants to be mounted on a large metal panel to pull the heat out. It will be very very stressed with 100W in open air.

The numbers on old Traynors were, uh, different. However this is a 40-50 Watt amp "clean" (well, clean-ish) which when SLAMMED will make 70-90 Watts of utterly distorted heat. If the amp was maxed and the speaker was not wall-shattering, most of that heat has to go into the pad.

How hot is it? Hot enough to sizzle spit on your finger? Hot enough to char tissue paper? Hot enough to melt the solder on its terminals? (I've done that, with a transistor, and it worked 20 minutes that way.)
  • SUPPORTER

PRR

Wait a second. There are several Traynor "YBA".