DIY 4 channel Footswitch for Boss Katana 50

Started by BGaucho, October 03, 2017, 07:34:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BGaucho

Hello all. This is my first post here. I hope I'm making myself clear since I'm not an expert in electronics.

So. I've recently bought a Boss Katana 50 guitar amp (a really good tone modeling amp) and yesterday it received an awesome software update allowing it to have 4 channels stored (instead of 2 channels like in the previous version), divided into Rank A (Ch1 and Ch2) and Rank B (Ch1 and Ch2).

The Boss FS-6 foot switch (the one with 2 buttons) in latching mode can be used to switch between banks/channels like this:

FS-6 Button B (Plug Tip): switch between Bank A and Bank B previously stored in the Boss Katana 50.
FS-6 Button A (Plug Ring): switch between Ch1 and Ch2 of the previous selected Bank.

So for example, when I step on the FS-6 Button A, I'll be changing between 2 channels of the Bank A. Then I need to step on the FS-6 Button B to be able to switch (using FS-6 button A) between Channels 1 and 2 of the Bank B.

My question is:
Is there a way to split this system into a 4 channels foot switch in order to automatically change between Bank A and Bank B as soon as I hit the Channels 1 and 2 related to each Bank?

Any schematics will be appreciated!
Thanks a lot for your time!

potul

I don't think you can do it with a fully passive aproach. With a microcontroller (or arduino-style) and 2 relays it should be easy to achieve.

BGaucho

Quote from: potul on October 03, 2017, 10:58:07 AM
I don't think you can do it with a fully passive aproach. With a microcontroller (or arduino-style) and 2 relays it should be easy to achieve.

Thank you very much, buddy!
This is a little advanced stuff for me, but I'll try some research. It is never too late to learn new things.

Cheers!

Redvers

If the switches were momentary it would probably be a lot easier. As it is you would need some kind of relay controller as previously said.