first time caller. anyone wanna help me ruin (mod) a morley wah pedal?

Started by adamjuresko, October 22, 2017, 08:21:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adamjuresko

heya,
I'm getting this in a couple days morley (cwa) and I'd really love to mod it. specifically i'd like to turn it into a distortion wah, like a real **cked up distortion wah. nothing subtle (think the metal zone of wah pedals)? I've never modded a pedal before, so I'm hoping this will be my first of many. i don't know if this is possible but really what i'd love is to have this thing shoot out white noise mixed with my signal if that's even possible. i guess that would be on the same level as those 'hurricane surf' wahs that are way to expensive for me. but if not then just some really nasty clipping distortion would be great. again, i've never done this kind of thing before so please keep that in mind if you have suggestions as to what exactly i need to fiddle with to make this thing basically a noise machine that i run a guitar through (while keeping the filter sweep). really looking forward to any help!

Keppy

Welcome!

The usual way of making distortion is turning the gain way up and then clipping it with diodes. To turn the gain of the opamp up, try a resistor between pins 2 & 4 of the opamp. Smaller resistor = more gain. To turn that gain into distortion, try some clipping diodes. Two diodes, each one connected between pins 2 & 8, but opposite directions (one diode has the banded end at pin 2 and the other end at pin 8, vice versa for the other diode.

For more info on the effect of these components, see http://www.geofex.com/Article_Folders/TStech/tsxtech.htm under the heading "clipping stage."

This turns your wah into a distortion circuit. It will probably change the sound of the filter but not eliminate it. It might be what you want or it might not, but it's one of the simpler ways to start experimenting. Good luck!
"Electrons go where I tell them to go." - wavley

highwater