Tremolo pedal design

Started by suryabeep, October 29, 2017, 02:49:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

suryabeep

Hi everyone,
I'm thinking of building a tremolo pedal, but I'm not 100% sure I understand how to. I saw on some other threads that tremolo is basically using an lfo to vary the amplification of a transistor, but I don't quite understand this.
Still in the process of learning, so bear with me if I ask dumb questions :P

Kipper4

Think of the lfo outputting a wave.
Part of the wave is above circuit ground and part of it below.
If you think of it as when the lfo wave is at the top signal goes from input to output.
And when the wave is at the bottom the signal goes to ground through said resistor.
As a laymans explanation.

Probability a lot more to it.
I'm no expert.
Ma throats as dry as an overcooked kipper.

Smoke me a Kipper. I'll be back for breakfast.

Grey Paper.
http://www.aronnelson.com/DIYFiles/up/

R.G.

You're right. In fact, there is a huge amount more to it.

Tremolo is the cyclic variation of signal loudness. It's nearly always a sub-audio frequency amplitude modulation. Most common modulation rates are from perhaps one cycle per second to maybe ten or fifteen cycles per second. Higher frequencies are heard as a "growling" tone, which might be fun in itself, but that's another effect entirely.

You can think of tremolo as having a motor drive a volume control pot up and down, over and over. In fact, that's about an ideal way to do it, at least until your motor and mechanism wear out the pot. Most tremolos use one of two schemes: (a) variation of attenuation, much like the volume control example, or (b) variation of the gain of an amplifier stage. This second type is what the OP is suggesting.