Timmy Mod (beginner question)

Started by ToneJunkie, November 13, 2017, 11:53:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ToneJunkie

Hi I use a real timmy pedal that I just love to leave on all the time.  I use it to add a little magic to my clean sound and I don't really want any clipping from it.  There is a tiny sweet spot very low on the gain knob and I was wondering if it was possible to change the gain pot out for a smaller value to make the pedal have a much larger sweet spot.  I never use it for overdrive and I thought that this would make the pedal easier to use for me.   So I'm a beginner at this and I was thinking I could switch the 1M gain pot out for a 250k or even a 100k pot and it would do what I am asking.  Any help would be appreciated. ?

thermionix

Where in the 1M pot's range is the sweet spot?  You may have to desolder it to measure.  Then you could use a 100K pot with a resistor in series on one or both ends to make up the other 900K and keep the tone the same, if that makes sense.

ToneJunkie

Its wired as a variable resistor right?  Oh for some reason I assumed at the least resistance it would be the least overdrive... is it the opposite?

thermionix

ToneJunkie

Here is a guy who wrote an article on the schematic... http://www.coda-effects.com/2015/11/jan-ray-in-1590b-with-coda-effects-pcb.html .  I hope its OK if I post this  :-\

nocentelli

The stock gain pot is a 500kB as a variable resistor in the feedback loop: You can happily replace it with a 250k or 100k pot to reduce the maximum gain and widen the low gain sweetspot
Quote from: kayceesqueeze on the back and never open it up again

Keppy

Quote from: ToneJunkie on November 13, 2017, 11:53:40 PM
There is a tiny sweet spot very low on the gain knob and I was wondering if it was possible to change the gain pot out for a smaller value to make the pedal have a much larger sweet spot.
Yes.

Its wired as a variable resistor right?
Yes.