Behringer UV300 Ultra Vibrato (or any plastic clone) - True Bypass Mod?

Started by scorchedcortex, December 21, 2017, 11:33:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

scorchedcortex

Hello everyone,

Has anyone performed a true bypass mod on the Behringer UV300 Ultra Vibrato, or ANY of the cheap plastic Behringer clones?

If so, can I be directed to the directions or a tutorial on how to do this? I DO NOT want to re-house the pedal. I just want to put in a true bypass foot switch in the existing enclosure.

I'm a bit of a noob at this, so any help is much appreciated.

Thanks!

Mark Hammer

DavidRavenMoon

I agree with Mark. There's zero benefits on modding it to TB. It's all hype.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
SGD Lutherie
Hand wound pickups, and electronics.
www.sgd-lutherie.com
www.myspace.com/davidschwab

scorchedcortex

I have seen various posts suggesting that the bypass on these pedals are noisy and problematic. Is it just a bunch of hooey?

Mark Hammer

It would depend on the pedal.  I have a few Behringer pedals.  Some are every bit as quiet as their commercial predecessors (i.e., Boss, MXR), and others have made poor choices of op-amps.  I have their acoustic simulator (clone of Boss AC-2), where they use TL064 quad op-amps.  Very hissy.  But input and output buffers in e-switched pedals are generally single-transistor affairs and very quiet.  If one has 8-10 e-switched pedals on their board, then the miniscule amount of noise that the buffers add, cumulatively, may not be studio quality.  One or two at a time, however, their hiss pales beside what the rest of one's rig adds.

So, I can see some limited arguments for wanting to convert to TB.  But outside of those specific contexts, I'm not seeing a strong argument for you to rip up the pedal and install a different switch.

Redvers

Just get a small TB looper for it. Then you could ab true bypass against buffered bypass to see if it's worth it.

R O Tiree