tonebender mkii transistor question

Started by nepalnt21, October 27, 2018, 08:36:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nepalnt21

planning on breadboarding the mkii fuzz, according to this page: http://fuzzcentral.ssguitar.com/mkII.php

honestly, im not sure which brand/ version i wanna go with, maybe i'll try out all three.

my question is: do all three transistors make a difference in tone? i have a few germanium pnp BJTs, but i am wondering if i could just use Si in one or two slots. which of the three make the most impact on the overall tone?

thanks

PRR

Q1 "has" to be "leaky" (or a new bias devised). The collector should come to 1V to 8V, not zero or 9V. (A Si part here would be hard-off, collector jammed at 9V.)

The other two will be different Ge or Si, but may be satisfactory either way.
  • SUPPORTER

nepalnt21

im pretty new to this: when you say collector should "come-to", are you talking bias? what do "hard-off" and "jammed" mean in this context?

edit*, ive collected that you mean yhere's a certain point where electricity wont flow? its been awhile since ive taken an electronics class... ive never used a transistor as a switch, only as component in boosters and distortions, afaik.

Electric Warrior

They are all set up for germanium transistors with a certain amount of leakage. You can make Q2 and Q3 work with silicons as well, but I don't know if it will sound the same.

Some of the fuzzcentral schematics have issues: These usually came with a 10k on Q1's base and a 47k on Q2's collector (with leaky OC75s) or 100ks in both spots (with lower leakage OC81Ds), no matter if Sola Sound, Marshall or Vox branded (the OEM versions used the same boards and circuit as the Sola Sound version when they were being made concurrently). Voltages for either version are in the same ballpark.

Also, their biasing instructions are way off. Here are voltage measurements from my vintage unit:

Battery: 9.67V
Q1 C -9.02V B -0.03V E 0V
Q2 C -0.17V B -0.08V E 0V