Big Box Deluxe Memory Man not powering on

Started by savoir_faire, February 15, 2018, 06:55:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

savoir_faire

Excuse me if this isnt the proper place to post this. Ive been doing minor repairs to synths for a few months now (replacing tact switches, volume pots etc..) so im very new to all this. I purchased a 90's DMM (wall wart version) for cheap knowing that it powered on but didnt produce any sound. I opened it up to check if there was any unsoldered wires or fried parts etc. I noticed the 3005 chips were a little loose so i pushed them back into their sockets and powered it back on to do a quick check without closing it back up (Pretty stupid i know). In doing so i accidentaly touched the top left pin on the power switch and i heard a very faint kind of sparking noise and now the red Power LED doesnt light up anymore. No smoke or burnt smell. What are the odds that i fried the IC's?

thermionix

Does it have a fuse?

Forgive my DMM ignorance, you say "wall wart version" but it looks like a regular 2-conductor AC wire going in at that strain relief.

Plexi

I agree with thermionix question.

After all, I would try to jump/omit all the transformer, and feed the pedal directly (24v?) from another wall wart.

Idk why... buy I've always be afraid of that EHX's pedals with included transformer and not ground connection  :icon_rolleyes:
To you, buffered bypass sucks tone.
To me, it sucks my balls.

savoir_faire

Here's a picture of the 2 prong wall plug and the schematics i found online.

Scruffie

By the looks of that PCB, it's a 70's model, not a reissue.