BJT Buffer Design - Which Components and Why?

Started by Jolly Jimmy, March 02, 2018, 08:40:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jolly Jimmy

Hello all,

I'm very much a beginner at all this (not moved past the breadboard) so please bear with me. I have gathered all the info I've been able to find in relation to this but I'm quite unsure about a few things, so here I am. This is my first attempt at adding input and output buffers to a circuit, my goal is to better understand the choice of components. Much of what you see here results from a hands-on, trial and error approach. So I have a few questions I hope some of you may be able to help me with. You made find I have made a few completely erroneous assumptions!

- Input impedance :

As far as I can tell, the input impedance of each buffer is dominated by R4 and R6 respectively, hence my choice of 1M resistors in this position. But I'm unsure of this and the exact calculation. How do I work this out?
I included R3 at the input as it seemed to rid me of a small amount of radio interference. How does this influence the input impedance?

- The VRef divider components, another few questions :

Firstly, from what I understand, for an emitter follower configuration I want the emitter to sit at Vcc/2. The ratio between R1 and R2 gave me this through R4 and R6 feeding the base of each transistor. For the same ratio between R1 and R2, why choose 10K and 5.6K over 100K and 56K for example? How does one pick the optimal values here?
Secondly, why do I often see resistors of equal value for the divider? This wouldn't get me to Vcc/2 on the emitters.
Something escapes me here.

On the outputs of each buffer :