Help with Attenuator/Boost/Loop for line level signal

Started by four_corners, March 20, 2018, 12:17:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

four_corners

Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to building guitar pedals (about a year), but I've been having a blast making them.

I play both guitar and keyboard, but have been running into issues with a few synths/keyboards not playing nice with some of my pedals (I'm getting some nasty clipping/distortion sounds). I understand this has to do with the synth being line level, which is much hotter than a guitar signal.

I originally thought "hey, I'll just make a little attenuator pedal like the EHX Signal Pad", but then also realized I'd need to get my signal back up to line level after my effects.

So! Here is where I need some help...

I was thinking it would be cool to build a little single send/return effects loop type pedal, with the EHX Signal Pad circuit pre-send, and the MXR Micro Amp post-return to get back up to line level.

I've never built anything that didn't strictly adhere to someone else's build plans (mostly tagboardeffects), so it took me a bit to figure this out.

WARNING!!! I apologize in advance for the super messy looking illustration, hopefully it makes sense.

Does this look correct and seem like something that would work?

One last thing to add, you'll notice a little SPDT switch from the Signal Pad circuit to the "Send" output; I thought I'd add a little toggle switch so I'd be able to bypass the effects loop if I ever wanted to use this as a simple attenuator/volume pedal. I guess I could omit this though and just patch a physical cable between the send and return too, though a switch seems less cumbersome.

Thanks for all the help.

-Josh

bluebunny

Welcome!