Speaking of compressors....

Started by smoguzbenjamin, December 26, 2003, 05:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smoguzbenjamin

....Which is the best one?

I want some really looooooooooong sustain, and nice fat compressed sounds for blasting into my metalzone... And not too difficult, I'm not an expert yet ;)

Who can tell me what to build other than an orange squeezer?
I don't like Holland. Nobody has the transistors I want.

zener

Tonepad has 4 compressor, along with the OS are MXR Dyna, Ross and DOD 280. I build the Ross. Both of us may be looking for the loooooooong sustain. The Ross doesn't seem to give the sustain we're looking for (Otherwise, there was something wrong with my build).

There's also a Supa Sustain in GGG.

Zener
Oh yeah!

Ansil

have you tried the hollis compressor.

petemoore

Sounds great when drivien hard by a Fuzz...high end is very smooth grit.
 Just guitar gates, I don't know whats up with that.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

smoguzbenjamin

Where's the schemmo for that, Ansil?

Ansil

Quote from: smoguzbenjaminWhere's the schemmo for that, Ansil?

http://www.hollis.co.uk/john/circuits.html

it is acting a little funny when itry to check it today though. might be my server

Marcos - Munky

In AMZ there is the Q&D Comp2, using the SSM2166. I built it, this thing really make my sound better. And helped with the sustain too.

Mark Hammer

They are pretty much ALL capable of looooonnnngggg sustain with a mod here or there and the right input signal.

Compressors most often function by having a preset amount of boost that gets instantly turned down by the initial attack of the picked note, and then gradually increased as the input dies down.  If the input signal is hotter, the gain of the pedal will be dropped and faded back in over alonger period of time, creating the impression of more compression and sustain.  If the input signal is weak, max gain will be faded back in over a shorter interval.