the lo-fi pedal on geofex

Started by hobageeba, January 05, 2004, 05:40:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hobageeba

hello.  i'm really new to this whole stompbox building thing but i found a schematic on geofex.com for a lo-fi/telephone/noise pedal.  it seems like a really cool idea but i was wondering if any of you have successfully built this pedal.  i also don't totally understand the schematics.  it seems like the bypass switch isn't wired to the input or output jacks.....is that wierd??  is that even a bypass switch??(it's in the noise source section).  and, it seems like there's only one pot ( in the panner section).  if any of you can help me out that'd be awesome.  thanks!!

R.G.

Quotei was wondering if any of you have successfully built this pedal
I have built both the "telephone filter" and noise source separately, and both work well. The rest is a mixer to mix the two. I have not built the whole mess as a single pedal.
Quoteit seems like the bypass switch isn't wired to the input or output jacks.....is that wierd?? is that even a bypass switch??(it's in the noise source section).
There isn't any bypass switch shown, only the effect circuit. The circuit needs a "wrapper" with bypassing, indicator, etc. See the article on wrappers for some more info. Most effects circuits, like this one, can be extracted out separate from the wrapper that does the in/out/bypass/indicator/battery, etc.
Quoteit seems like there's only one pot ( in the panner section).
There is indeed only one pot. That pot pans the signal from pure noise to pure telephone signal, with a mixture in between.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

brett