A stupid question concerning delays

Started by Thomas P., January 07, 2004, 06:59:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomas P.

I should know that this has been dicussed over and over again but I believe I missed it :?

How the story starts:
I looked at the new stocklist of my No.1 parts supplier and again came across the MN3008 and MN3101 which are available at a very good price.
My thoughts were that there has to be something good about it and I started to search for projects.
The first (and proppably the easiest) was on the datasheet called a 'reverberation effect'. I studied it for a while and saw that the MN3008 is designed for a negativ voltage as all the chips from this series.
At the archive I found that someone had used a MN3008 in the zombie. Since I've already got a zombie I'm really into building a reverb etc.
What I did was searching for delay projects and found that some are makeing a diference between delay and echo which I ever thought has to be almost the same.
With this in mind I looked at other datasheets of the MN300x series and on everyone was the same 'reverberation' circuit once called like this once called 'echo' :?
But help was on its way: I found a site with some examples (also concerning electronical designs). The first note was that reverbs designed on BBD are very poor. And further on there was also this difference between delay and echo.

So my question is: What is the (technical) difference between them?
Am I right that each one delays the signal putting some of it back into the delayline and on it's output mixing it with the dry signal?
god said...
∇ ⋅ D = ρ
∇ x E = - ∂B/∂t
∇ ⋅ B = 0
∇ x H = ∂D/∂t + j
...and then there was light

ExpAnonColin