OT: speaker wattage vs. amp wattage...

Started by marrstians, March 11, 2004, 10:13:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

marrstians

if you have two speakers in a 100watt combo do the speakers wattage have to match each other? would a 60watt and a 30watt give you 90watt speaker handling? what's the dangers of the speakers wattage being lower than the amps output?

brett

Hi.  I'm no expert, but here's what I know...
Quoteif you have two speakers in a 100watt combo do the speakers wattage have to match each other?
No they don't.  Especially if their frequency-handling characteristics are different.
Quotewould a 60watt and a 30watt give you 90watt speaker handling?
Usually, yes.
Quotewhat's the dangers of the speakers wattage being lower than the amps output?
You can overheat the speaker coils (very nasty) and cause other physical and electrical damage to the speaker.

It is worth noting that speaker ratings are "nominal" and really only apply to sparticular signals under particular conditions.  For example, heavily clipped signals tend to cause more heating per unit of volume than sine waves.  I'd also suspect that speakers are more prone to overheating inside in Florida than outside in Alaska.  

Some speakers have two ratings - continuous power and peak power. The continuous figure (usually about 1/2 of the peak figure) is more likely to be a good match for amp output.  

Maybe it's just bad luck (or maybe that 200W amp) but I've blown a few speakers that I feel should have handled what I was feeding them.  (eg. 2x100W Eminance speakers didn't last 2 minutes, but my 250W Daichi can take everything I throw at it and not even get warm).

cheers
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

smoguzbenjamin