DIY synth bass?

Started by David, March 12, 2004, 11:37:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

David

Way back when while I was still doing bar gigs as a bassist, I was really jealous of keyboard players and the ridiculous bass they could get from their synths.  My poor little bass couldn't come close to that fatness.  With the advent of pedals like the Deep Impact, perhaps the tide is turning a little bit.  I'm wondering if there might be a DIY solution to this also.  I'd like to find out if it would be possible to build a circuit to:

Take my bass input note
Generate the same note on another "channel"
Take the generated note and flat it (or sharp it) about 3% or so (to do pitch-shift doubling)
Mix it all back together
Send to the output

I've done a little research on this forum and in other places, and it looks like a phase-locked loop could help with the "generate the same note" part.  Does anyone have any ideas on how to do the "pitch shift"?  Is this idea even worth pursuing or is there maybe an easier way to do it?

Mark Hammer

What you suggest is probably more workable with bass than guitar from a tonal standpoint, since a well-filtered oscillator output could seem more like a second bass than it could seem like a second guitar.

From another standpoint, though, bass is problematic since it takes a little while to detect a bass note than a guitar note, based on the time between successive peaks.  That delay may be disruptive to your playing or it may not.  What may be more disruptive is the fact that it would be an exclusively mono system.  Although bass players may generally *pick* one note at a time, that doesn't mean that note N is automatically killed the moment note N+1 is picked.  So there is a stylistic and usability issue with any sort of simple pitch detection system, despite the fact that the tone produced might be entirely acceptable.