$39 drill press at Harbor Freight

Started by ErikMiller, April 03, 2004, 03:01:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ErikMiller

They have two different (but not very different) 8" benchtop drill presses on sale through the 10th of April.

I bought one and it is pretty nice. I'd been using my behemoth floor-standing radial drill press, and this small one is much more stompbox-scaled.

The 1/2" chuck tightens down far enough for PCB hole bits.

Bluesgeetar

I'm kind of partial to the drill press attachment you can buy for the Dremel tool.  I just use a hand drill for jacks and switch holes.  Of course I'm a musician needing a good tone machine I'm not trying to make a fashion statement with my pedals.   A strong arm and a steady hand and patience will do you good everytime.  :D

BillyJ

I got a package of various small bits and four or five were decent for PCB, the rest were too small and a few could be used for standoff holes and such.
Might wanna look for them while your there.

ExpAnonColin

Link por favor?  I've been looking for one...

-Colin

Adam Shame

http://www.harborfreight.com/

I have one of their stores right down the street.  They have some good stuff for CHEAP.
Q: What do you get when you cross an owl with a bungee cord?

A: My Ass

ExpAnonColin

Holy shit, shipping CAN'T be free!  The thing must cost $90 to ship as it is!

EDIT: I can't find the $39 one, just the 89 one.

-Colin

petemoore

Nothin wrong with a good hand drill.
 I like two.
 Different sized bits...the litte one [a 9.6v] I use for usually 3/8'' and smaller holes, the big [Black and Decker deluxe model with TONS of torque, variable power 'notice I don't say speed'...takes a little getting used to really] drill I use for small or big holes.
 Ppl hear 9.6v and downtalk...I got the thing for 20$, and an extra battery, and it's served me over a long period of time and has seen ALOT of use in various applications. I like it cause it's NOT so strong and fast, it is easier to control.