Transistor Headroom...

Started by petemoore, April 18, 2004, 12:19:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

petemoore

I want a simple preamp to drive a Dynakit ST70.
  It has a pentode configuration 7199 tube before the output tubes, they step up from what many pre-amps put out [I understand], I'm thinking I might get something I like in a Transistor or OA build.
 I've never tried higher voltage ccts, more headroom would be available with them.
 Mosfet Booster gets the thing going pretty good, But doesn't drive it as hard as the Behringer mixer, which has plenty more than enough output to drive the Dyna.
 That said, is there somethign fairly simple I could try with say Dual OA's or Q's?
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

brett

Hi Pete
I'm no expert about driving what you've got, but I would have thought that with that pentode there, all you'd need was something that would push a volt or two (RMS) into it.  So something like a rail-to-rail op amp like the NE5532 would be good, even on a single 9 or 15V supply.  

For really huge output (30V p-p!), use this op-amp on a +/- 15V supply.  My amp is a similar setup (I think) and uses a crappy solid state front end (LM307s from about 1975!).  Even this front end, on a +/- 15V supply can massively overdrive the subsequent 12AX7 and EL34s.

cheers
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

will

Hi Pete,

Quote from: petemooreMosfet Booster gets the thing going pretty good, But doesn't drive it as hard as the Behringer mixer, which has plenty more than enough output to drive the Dyna.
 That said, is there somethign fairly simple I could try with say Dual OA's or Q's?

How about 2 Mosfet booster stages. That will have enough gain to overdrive the Dyna ST70.   :twisted: You could also look into putting a tube rectifier in the ST70.

Regards,
Will

petemoore

Kool Idea about the Mosfet Boosts.