OT: I just have to share this....

Started by smoguzbenjamin, April 24, 2004, 06:18:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smoguzbenjamin

For all you strat players, check this out: 8)

You know the 5-way switch that selects the pickups? Ever realised that you can't select the bridge and neck pickups together, or all three?
Add a switch!!!! And you can select the bridge pickup with any setting, and it opens up a huge variety of sounds never before realised with an el-cheapo strat like mine! :mrgreen: My guess is that with a nice fancy guitar the new sound palette will be even broader than mine!

I'm a happy guitarist!
I don't like Holland. Nobody has the transistors I want.

Peter Snowberg

Three pickups in parallel is a nice setting isn't it?  :mrgreen:

Three pickups in series is nice too. ;)

Your next task is to add another switch and make it phase the middle pickup. That opens things even more.

take care,
-Peter
Eschew paradigm obfuscation

petemoore

Positions 1 , 3 , and 5 on my Washburn are unsuably noisy.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

SnooP_Wiggles

Single Coil pickups are in their nature noisy, so that is why positions 1,3,5 are noisy. But (correct me if i am wrong), positions 2,4 have single coils in parellel, acting a bit like a humbucker. Get humbuckers or special single coil pickups (eg Fender Lace sensor) for less noise

Peter Snowberg

Here's an ultimate one for you Ben. :mrgreen:

http://archive.guitarplayer.com/archive/gear/hrm3.shtml

I put this in my first electric (a Squire Bullet) and it made all the difference! If you add a phase switch for the neck or middle pickup, you get 19 way switching with four toggles (!). It's by far the most versatile setup I've tried. Even junk pickups on a junk guitar can sound really cool in this setup.

Take care,
-Peter

Paul Marossy