Sorta OT: Wiring jacks

Started by nosamiam, May 06, 2004, 07:05:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nosamiam

Ok, this isn't strictly a stompbox question, but the answer could be applied to stompboxes.

I have a couple "toy" synthesizers that I'm converting for more professional applications.  I'm not 100% sure how to proceed.

Synth #1)  Has internal speaker which I have disabled and don't intend to use.  I've wired in a 1/4" jack for it.  No prob.  However, it is a sampling keyboard and I want the option to use either the internal mic OR an external dynamic mic.  So what I'm looking for is a way to wire it so that if there is no 1/4" cable plugged into it, it will use the internal mic (has 2 wires).  But if I plug a mic cable into it, it would like it to disable the internal mic.  Is there a way to do this?  I'm looking for an "either-or" arrangement. Can someone please explain it?  Bear in mind, I'm a newbie who has built a few boxes, but has little clue as to how circuits actually work.

Synth #2)  Has internal speaker which I have disabled by wiring in a 1/4" jack.  However, I'd like to be able to unplug the keyboard and have the internal speaker working.  Once again, I'm looking for an "either-or" setup.  Can someone help me out with this?

Thanks a lot,
Brandon

nosamiam

Samuel