Tube rectafiers as clipping diodes?

Started by Hal, May 07, 2004, 10:09:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hal

Paul Marossy

My intuition tells me "no", but I am no expert on that one...
Why would you want to do that anyway? Just wonderin' what your thinking is on that.

Hal

PURE TUBE MRX distortion plus!  No Semiconductors in sight!!

no not really.  Just wondering if it has been tried, and what it would sound like...

I think the problem would lay in the fact that you not only need a larger signal to push into the tube, but it would also not have a definite voltage drop....

i should try it though, at some point...or someone should cuz i dont have tubes or a power supply... :-D

Paul Marossy

Tube rectifiers need an AC voltage to do what they do. So in theory, they could work for a guitar signal. But, I think that because of how they are constructed, you would get some problems with hum. They are meant for rectifying 120VAC, not small signals like one from a preamp section.
Once again, I'm not an expert, but that is my take on it.

Hal

tube rectafier = diode?

simply, doesn't it just allow electrons to flow from the filament to the plate, but not the plate to the filament...??

And yea, i think the voltage would be a problem :-D...unless a guitar signal is boosted up...

puretube

you can wire a "small signal" triode (e.g. 12AX7) as a diode (=rectifier),
and if you do that twice, you can get nice tube-diode-clipping including doubling, like shown here:

(this one additionally has the equivalent of the "E-H Tube-Zipper" filter circuit in front of the diode-stage -
no semics in sight - )

Paul Marossy