Cases - make your own

Started by M0n0mania, May 19, 2004, 03:50:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

M0n0mania

I'm looking into making some pedal cases using bent sheet metal, along the lines of EH and Lovetone. I can get hold of a bending tool that will take up to 20 swg, but I'm no engineer. Can anyone tell me if this will be suitable? What guages do EH?Lovetone use? I've seen that a certain amp chassis uses 16swg but presume pedals don't need to be quite so hefty.

jimbob

Pure-tube is a good person to ask.
"I think somebody should come up with a way to breed a very large shrimp. That way, you could ride him, then after you camped at night, you could eat him. How about it, science?"

puretube

Quote from: jimbobPure-tube is a good person to ask.

...but I`m a decimal guy and use aluminum: 1.5mm......  :wink:

M0n0mania

wow thats about 17.5swg! (16swg=1.42 mm) The 20 swg I'm looking at is a mere 0.81mm. Do you find it really necessary to use such a guage, or is it because its aluminium, might be stronger in steel? What do you use for forming these boxes?

puretube

for alu 1.5 is min., imho;
for steel, 1mm is ok (see E-H boxes);
in the pic: left side the thing I bend,
right side I cut with;

Mark Hammer

I would think that the required thickness of the metal would depend on the physical size and shape of the case itself, and any other parameters that affect how rigid it will be where it needs to be.