Viva Shaka Tube!

Started by Paul Marossy, May 24, 2004, 02:05:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul Marossy

I have been using my rebuilt Shaka Tube for a few months now, and I must say that I really like the thing for nice big sounding chords without tons of distortion and nice bluesy leads! Just saying thanks for a nice little circuit.  8)

Doug H

Paul,

Along the same lines I just recently started using my Pentode Driver again and love it. I built it a few years ago, it is based on the BK Butler Tube Driver circuit, similar to the Shaka Tube. Only instead of using a 12ax7, it uses 2 miniature 6ak6 pentodes.  I did a few tweaks to make the pentodes sound really good.

After a while I felt it was kind of fizzy sounding, so I started experimenting with low-pass filtering on the output. It ended up being too dark for my SS amp so I just gave up on it for a while. Then I plugged it into my Octal Fatness a week ago and it was voiced perfectly for this amp. With the LPF set up like this, I guess it is like a TS, nice for a bright sounding amp.

Between the pedal and the amp preamp, all the pentode action gets some incredible compression happening and it sounds really "big". It is definitely a "holy grail" tone for me. It really feels as well as sounds good. Gets pretty chunky and cleans up decently too.

Only drawback is the hum.  At some point I will redesign it for a 30vdc wall-wart and dc heaters. But anyway, no need for any TS-style overdrives for this amp, this baby does it all and more.;-)

Doug

Paul Marossy

Doug-

Yeah, I saw that pentode driver at your site. Pretty cool little circuit. I can imagine between that and the octal fatness, that you must have some serious tone going on!  8)

petemoore

Could you help me start my first tube project: Shaka Tube?
 The only resistor that needs to be 1watt is the 10R ?..all the others can be 1/4 watt?
 Tube pins 4 and 5 connect to ground?
 And 12Vdc could be from a battery?