thunderchief - tube

Started by changes, June 08, 2004, 04:26:42 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

changes

well just a thought for the thunderchief pedal...
i'm not sure because i'm new to stompbox building but the distortion is coming out from the second jfet.correct?can i replace that fet with a 12ax7 or any other triode(i have a pcl 86 waiting) and retune the pots for 4.5v.if this is possible i believe that the sound will be even better and closer to the original.
pleaz correct me if i'm mistaken
CHANGES

YouAre

I have long....longed...to have tubes in my solid state pedals, but from what i've learned, its not really practical. You will not get alot of power out of those tubes at just 9v.

Lonestarjohnny

What kind of amp are you playing your Thunderchief through, I've played mine trough about 25 different amps and you'll laugh, but, I think it sound's so warm and just like my old Plexi when I play it through my old Peavey Classic, it's got a S/S pre/amp and 2 6L6's for power, I'm gonna put some new speaker's in it next week and start useing it at the Jam's I go to. I can't wait to see some of the Guy's reaction's when I haul that ol Dog in to the Gig, But what will really be fun is When my Peavey rip's the ass right off of one thier LIL BoPeeP Amps, believe me, I don't work for ROG but I'm sure gonna Advertize for um,
JD
PS { I hope I don't make the price of Peavey Classic's Shoot Sky High on UKBaY } I paid 25 for mine at the Flea Market.
 :lol:  :lol:  :lol:

changes

i know that you re gonna have less output with a tube at 9V but i think it will do...
the thunderchief with all four jfets has much more output than almost any other pedal...
if i replace the second one with the tube then the output will probably be like any other stompbox...and if not i could supercharge the tube by increasing the cap,resistor values...
CHANGES

Ed G.

PS { I hope I don't make the price of Peavey Classic's Shoot Sky High on UKBaY } I paid 25 for mine at the Flea Market.