help w/ rocket

Started by jeremybender34, June 09, 2004, 05:31:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeremybender34

hey there i am somewhat new to building guitar effects. So far I have built a simple fuzz face and a jfet preamp.

I am trying to build the rocket  but i cant get a signal. Well actually if a turn the amp and pre all the way up ican get a low level noisy signal but this completely unintentional. I think ia may have a problem eith my transistors. They are gneralpurpose transistors from radio shack with an hfe listed as 200 the voltages on each lead are as follows

q1 C-8.5 B-4.35 E-1.24
q2 C-7.3 B-.18   E- .01
d3 C-7.6 B-7.1   E-.2

I dont know what to make of it and looking at the faq on geofex was helpful but i cannot determine what to do next. I have triple checked all my component values and resoldered the entire board   All i can say at this point is help

petemoore

I believe Q's 2 and 3 should be biased like a FF, Q3 should be about at 1/2 supply voltage [~4.5v of 9v] 4.5v.
 Try adjusting the trimpots and see if that helps.
 I'm sure you checked Transistor pinouts...I've missed them up before then found out I didn't find the problem the first, nor 4th time.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

Peter Snowberg

Welcome jeremy. :D

Try measuring the collector of Q3 while you adjust the bias pot. You want to end up with something like 1/2 of Vcc on the collector there; in this case, roughly 4.5V. That should drastically change the values for Q2 also.

If you still don't have sound after adjusting the bias, repost the voltages you see and I'm sure a fix can be found.

Best of luck!
-Peter
Eschew paradigm obfuscation

jeremybender34

alas alack i tried mr snowbergs suggestion but to no avail.  Turning the bias pot only vairies the collector voltage of q3  7.72 and 7.46 volts. By the way you guys are quick.

Lonestarjohnny