9VDC AND 18VDC Together from an adapter???

Started by Kleber AG, June 11, 2004, 09:35:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kleber AG

Hey all  8)
I'd like to build a DC power supply with 9VDC AND 18VDC for simultaneosly use(at same time), say 9Vdc for a overdrive box and 18vdc for an EQ...

Is it possible with only one transformer?
Does that 78L09 series of regulators just go as high as the 78L12??? Or is there a 18Vdc version?

umhmhmhh... Lm317s???
How must I do that? Please!

Note: I can easy get (buy)a big variety of transformers from a factory near here, lets say 12V,24V etc... 300mA, 500mA, 1A...

Thanks
Kleber AG

brett

Simply use a multi-tapped transformer.  In this case I *think* it would be 24V AC and 12V AC (otherwise known as 24VCT for centre-tapped).  I'm no expert on the regulation system, but you could use a bridge, big cap and 7809 to regulate the 12V to 9V.  Another bridge, cap and 7809, referenced to the 9V line (like a pseudo-earth) would give you 18V from the 24V line.  There must be stuff about this on the web.

And don't forget that the primary side bites hard!

cheers.
Brett Robinson
Let a hundred flowers bloom, let a hundred schools of thought contend. (Mao Zedong)

Kleber AG

Thanks Brett!
I'd like to make it as small as possible, but maybe with 1A.

Would that kind of transformer be biger or smaller than a simple 24V transformer?

Looks like that exists 78XX for 7809, 7812, 7818, 7824...?...
BTW: What would be the differences between 7809 versus 78L09 ???

Sorry I'm totally new to that...

Please, if someone have great experience with this things, could you point me to the best way of achieving that??? Reliable??? Size??? etc..

Thanks a lot for anymore info, please!  8)
Kleber AG

SoundTech