Frustration with homemade pedals

Started by Rodgre, August 30, 2003, 09:23:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rodgre

I've been building pedals for almost 20 years.

Over the years I've definitely gotten better at making neat wiring jobs. When I started, everything was a rat's nest. There's no wonder they rarely worked.

But now I'm taking special care to make solid and reliable pedals for some me and friends to use. No matter what I do, I still have awful problems with switching not working. I've used Fulltone (several batches) and now I bunch of the blue switches from Small Bear, and I still have intermittent issues with the pedals going dead when switched and having to be switched in and out a few times until they work.

It's entirely possible that it's not the switch and maybe a bad solder joint somewhere, but I know that I've had problems with Fulltone switches (we know how cheap those aren't!) failing on me. I still think the issue is the switch itself.

I recall once putting 1m resistors from the switch lugs to ground to help with popping, but is this necessary every time to get switches to work all the time? I wish I could figure out what the problem is, or like the other poster, I'm getting just frustrated enough to give up.

Roger

petemoore59

I just spent an hour+ redrafting a post about ckt Trolls and how to defeat them and I got: "Invalid Session"...gouge...what's that mean????Anything I should know about, or any suggestions about how to avoid or get around that that [very undesireable] "I.S." Page and get the current draft which was' available by clicking 'back' at that' time to get it posted?
 Bummer, instead you get this 5 min rant.

Aharon