OT - Octal Fatness Build Report

Started by Paul Marossy, July 03, 2004, 03:13:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Paul Marossy

OK you Firefly builders: If you like the Firefly, you should give the Octal Fatness a try!

Anyhow, I finally have it done, and I think it sounds great! A wide range of tones is possible from this amp, and as Doug noted, it does have a lot of sustain. Everything worked out pretty well as far as my chassis layout goes, which is amazing since I have a lot of things stuffed in a pretty small chassis. Noise level is pretty low, except for a little heater hum when I crank everything up, but I assume that is normal for a higher gain circuit like this one.

For testing, I ran it thru my Celestion Sidewinder (which is in my Seymour Duncan Convertible), and used a 6V6 which is biased at 23mA, I think. I have no experience with 6V6s, anyone know what they normally would bias at (being cathode biased)?

Oh, and here is the B+ voltages with tubes installed, measured at the filter caps:

At rectifier diodes - 356V
B+1 - 348V
B+2 - 291V
B+3 - 247V
B+4 - 238V

To see a picture essay on it: http://www.diyguitarist.com/GuitarAmps/OctalFatness.htm

Lonestarjohnny

Nice Paul,
Great lookin build, I love the tone outa Doug's Octal, let us hear yours when ya get a chance,
Super Cool  8)
JD

Paul Marossy

Thanks JD.  8)

I learned how to figure out how many watts I'm dissipating. I'm well below the maximum specified on the 6V6 data sheet for Class A operation. It looks like I've got 34mA on the cathode current and I'm dissipating 11 watts.

I'll try to get a soundclip recorded of it sometime in the near future. I know some people also want to hear my Matchless Spitfire clone as well.

Gringo

Hey Paul, if that amp sounds half as good as it looks, it'll have a tone to die for. I hope some day i can build something that good looking...(probably when hell freezes)   :(
Cut it large, and smash it into place with a hammer.
http://gringo.webhop.net

Paul Marossy