Help with SI Fuzz Face kit from bigtonemusic.com

Started by superhombre2k, July 22, 2004, 02:58:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

superhombre2k

I got the kit, put it together, and got it working in a matter of a couple days (it's my first time as a DIYer)

However, I have a couple "problems"... unity is almost all the way up the volume knob.  When I play my Strat, I'd say it's at 8 out of 10, and when I play my Les Paul, I have to crank it all the way up.  It hates my Les Paul actually... it's so quiet on the bridge pickup and then it's waaaay loud on the neck.  I'll probably just stick to running it with my Strat.

The other problem is, I want it to be brighter than it is.  It's got hardly any high end when it's on... it's sucking my tone!  Other than that, it's a cool pedal and it works how I'd expect it to.

I don't want to send it to Keith at bigtonemusic to fix because that's $ shipping and I won't see it for a while, let alone will I learn from this project!  What should I do???

RDV

Hard to say with seeing the schem or diagram he sent with it. Odds are if he gave you all the right components that you made a layout or wiring mistake.

RDV

AL

Fist thing - check ALL of your wiring and solder joints. Then check to make sure your transistors are in the right way. Now ... go here http://www.geofex.com/ at the top left is a link Technolgy of the ... click on that and read and read and read again the Technology of the Fuzz Face It's loaded with information.

Without more info on you pedal it's kinda hard to pinpoint exactly what's wrong.  I would recommend making the FX debugger from GEO as well. And one last question - What type of amp are you using? The FF works well with tube amps but I'm not sure about solid state and if your amp is cranked and saturated already you're just going to add mud.

Take another look and repost what you find. And Welcome !!! :D