Phase 45, again

Started by Michael Allen, August 08, 2004, 05:46:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Michael Allen

I've got it working here for the most part. Turning the trim is like a manual sweep through the phase range, but my LFO is not working. My dmm broke so what should I check out first to get the LFO pumping. I'm blind without the DMM here..

Thanks!

Paul Marossy

First off, how did you build it? The tonepad layout?

Paul Marossy

I'm no expert when it comes to phasers, but my initial thought is that you may have a mismatched pair of FETs. Also, are you sure that your opamps are functioning properly?

smoguzbenjamin

You should be able to get a cheap, simple DMM for 5 bucks, that will at least give you some idea of what's going on. I'd say get a cheapo meter so you know what's going on.
I don't like Holland. Nobody has the transistors I want.

Michael Allen

Nope, FETS are matched. Two best out of 25, 2N5458. The Opamps work fine, the prob is with the LFO. I'm not getting any modulation. I'll obtain another multimeter somehow in the next few days, so untill then...

Paul Marossy

Hmm... that is curious. I am interested to hear what you find out. I just built one using the same layout, didn't match the FETs, and it works just fine...

RDV

Electros correctly polarized? Both jumpers installed?

RDV

Paul Marossy

On a few things that I have built, I had a tiny solder bridge shorting out something next to it...
Just another idea of things to look for.  8)

smoguzbenjamin

Long live the 3rd hand with magnifying glass :D
I don't like Holland. Nobody has the transistors I want.

vdm

make sure of the fet orientation... that's all i have to say :)

trent

p.s. you could also try putting a 2.4k then led to ground from pin1 of IC2a - this will blink in time with the oscillator and let you know if it is oscillating at all

Michael Allen