New chick on the block wants the news on boost pedals

Started by Melanie K, August 15, 2004, 08:23:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Melanie K

Hi all,
What a lovely group of hands on musicians you are!
Great site!

I have some electronics experience re-wiring my guitar and some circuit stuff so I'm ready for this crazy pedal building thing.

First up a boost pedal to drive into my RAT which is set to only very mild gain. I want the boost to kick it into a louder dirtier sound but not over the top sonic mayhem!

So I need some advice on what all the popular ones do tonaly and dynamicly and what knobs they have etc..

What I'm basically asking is:
If you have built one (or more!), please describe it for me.

I can find many schematics but not so many descriptions.

Appreciation in advance for anyone that can help this eager newbie.

Cheers!!!

vdm

hi melanie!

firstly welcome to the board, and i hope you get as much out of it as the rest of us do. i also think you're the first female member ever!  ( dont hold me to that - i could be and probably am wrong)

anywho - as for a boost pedal like that, i think the best place to start is the booster pedal in the beginners section. it has a full walkthrough of the build and heaps of people have built and discussed there problems and solutions there too.

i wish you luck on your build, and hope you have a great time.

trent

Phorhas

Jack Orman's boosters are great, and so is the rangemaster.

Jack have descriptions on his site and the do sound good. for the rangemaster, R.G has a geart PDF file on it.

Jack's site:
http://www.muzique.com/
R.G's Site:
http://www.geofex.com/

If you want more booster schematics, E-mail me :)

have fun building :)
Electron Pusher

smoguzbenjamin

Hey, welcome.