Trim pots ? and the Insanity pedal

Started by BodomHatecrew666, August 26, 2004, 11:17:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BodomHatecrew666

Hey guys i am new to this board i have been hanging around for a few days checking things out and finaly registered.
So here is my problem i am not a complete newbie i know a  bit about electronics and the workings of a circuit (not a master like some of you guys) but i seem to make do. ok well i am thinking of building the Insanity distortion Box by Aron Nelson  (any info you guys have on this pedal would be greatly apprechiated reviews quality etc..)
well i would like to start building it but  i have never even heard of trim pots that he mentions on the pic and the resistor numbers by them 100k(31k) is this for one side getting 100k and the othere 31k  are these just mini pots or are the the same as the normal potentiometers  like on your guitar i tried the google search but there seems to be many different types box , multi turn , single turn , half turn do i just get one and turn it till the k's on the ohmmeter match the numbers suggested on the schem please help..  everything else makes sense i have to change some of the
amp cuircuits to different manufacturers do to availability in my town.
thanks guys and hope this isnt to much of a waist of space
also is this going to be my best bet for a real heavy dist i need lots  attack for fast individual note picking and sustain i want the notes to ring out and harmonics to scream. also needs to have a good thrashy rythme for the chugg'n chords. (basically i am looking for the perfect Melodic Speed death metal pedal ) my DOD crapped out and i needed something diff anyways. but i will try this even if it isnt close to what i expect .

RDV