Substituting pot values

Started by audioguy, September 07, 2004, 08:37:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

audioguy

What would be the effect of using a different value on a pot than what is listed in the schem? For example- I have a 50k linear- what would happen if I droped it in an effect that calls for a 100k linear?

ThANKS!

Audioguy

nosamiam

Hey, I'm still a newbie but I think I can answer this one.

If you did the above substitution, chances are you would not get the full range of desired effect you're looking for.  For instance if the pot were wired as a volume control, you would not be able to turn the volume all the way down.  With only 50k of resistance the pot would not "resist" enough of the signal to turn it all the way down.

If you used a 200k linear pot instead of a 100k, the knob would be done with its work only halfway through its travel; turn the knob halfway and the volume would be all the way down.  Continue to turn the knob and it wouldn't have any effect.

I get the feeling that's only half the story.  I'll leave it to the experienced folks to fill in the rest (or to correct me if I'm wrong).

audioguy

Quote from: nosamiam

If you did the above substitution, chances are you would not get the full range of desired effect you're looking for.  For instance if the pot were wired as a volume control, you would not be able to turn the volume all the way down.  With only 50k of resistance the pot would not "resist" enough of the signal to turn it all the way down.

Thats kinda what I thought- I just wanted some 2nd and 3rd opinions as to how retarded I am.