technology of transistors

Started by Toney, September 16, 2004, 12:40:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Toney

HI to all,
This site has really got me fired and I'm glad I found it.
So ,..I am still on an absorb as much information as possible type learning curve. Reading as much as I can find , but I got a little stuck on transistors. I know it sounds der-obvious and they are as common as anything , but I would really like to understand them rather than just use them.
 I have googled myself all over the web and feel pretty ok with the explanations regarding FET types, but don't quite get it as to how bipolar transisters actually work. Particularly how they actually amplify a signal.
As a famous TV professor used to say here in OZ ,"why is it so?".
Does anyone have some pointers to a clear tutorial on the technology of transistors?    
Yes, I am a newbie.......

niftydog

well, I always put it like this; a small current on the base controls a much, much larger current through the collector-emitter. (obviously this applies to common emitter amps)

Kinda like a tiny, easy to turn tap on a really big high-pressure hose!

some links;
http://www.tpub.com/content/neets/14179/css/14179_61.htm
http://users.pandora.be/educypedia/electronics/composemiconductors.htm

Trouble is, there's layers of understanding that goes on here:

"I just match up the numbers and pins and hope it doesn't blow up" :shock:

"I know how to use them and I know how not to blow them up"  :D

"I know how they work and I can design any transistor circuit with confidence" :)

"I know what 'holes' are and can tell you more or less how a PNP junction works"   :|

Then there's

"I design transistors for a living, I started back in the days of point-contact construction, and I know more about them than most people would care to think about"  8)

So, you sorta have to decide how much you want to understand them!