TS-5 (Don't Laugh) Mod

Started by bass_econo, September 22, 2004, 02:19:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bass_econo

I am a Noob.

I'm trying to do the 'brown mod' on my TS-5 tubescreamer and I can't find which resistors to change.  All of the things I've found on the net are for TS-7's etc.  I've already done the RC4558P mod (I have JRC4458P as well but I think the RC4558P sounds better to me, don't know why).  

Does anyone have any pics I can see or anything?  As luck would have it my MM doesn't seem to work at the moment so I can't just look for the 470 and 100.  

thanks

Joe Hart

Check the web for "resistor color codes" and just look fir them visually.  It should be a snap.
-Joe Hart

cd

bass_econo

Like I said I am a Noob.  I have that site saved but never thought to connect the 2 together to determine which ones.

Geez.... :evil:

Thanks for helping me though my idiocy... LOL  :lol:

fatoldsun

if you like the 808 mod try swapping all the resistors to carbon composite and the caps to higher quality electrlytics and poly film. the ts5 isn't a bad pedal at all. it's still a ts. they just skimped on the quality of parts and the case is a joke.

BD13UK

bass-econo if you drop me an email I'll send you a pictorial for the TS5 mod
Brian

TheBigMan

Change R34 to 100 ohms
Change R35 to 10 kohms

I also like the sound of changing one of the clipping diodes to a 1N4001 or similar.  This gives assymetrical clipping, but much more subtle than the Boss methods of 2 diodes one way and one the other.  Makes the tone smoother and more "liquid" to my ears.

Toney

These guys have it pretty well covered.
Seems to be a few divergent opinions regardind the carbon comps though.
Http://members01.chello.se/pastorn go doen to the DIY pedals
OR
//www.geocities.com/sunsetstrip/vine/6655/tubescreamer.htm

Fret Wire

Fret Wire
(Keyser Soze)

cd