Danelectro Mini mods: installing True Bypass?

Started by mrsage, October 02, 2004, 09:12:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrsage

I know people have posted similar topics before, but I'm relatively new to DIY stuff, so I was hoping for a bit more hand-holding on this.

I just bought a Tuna Melt, and I want to put it in a more sturdy box with a better switch and pots...What's the best way to go about doing this?

I gather that it's a DPDT momentary switch in there right now...Other posts I found have that their solution is to wire a jumper to make the circuit always on...then hook up a DPDT latching or a 3pdt to switch the circuit and battery on/off.

So my first question is: how do I figure out where to wire the jumper cable?

My second question is: how do I wire up the 3pdt? I true-bypassed a Green Russian Big Muff, but that seems to have been a different type of true-bypass mod than this one (since this switch is momentary).

So where should I start?

mrsage

Okay, so I gather that it's a momentary switch, and the easiest way to accomplish this may be to essentially make it a "true bypass loop box" type setup around the entire circuit.

I have a question, though...if I leave the effect "always on," will that drain the battery faster? Or is the battery usually drained at a constant rate whether the effect is on or off (as long as you have something plugged into the input)?

Finally, is there a way to hardwire the effect "on," or should I just leave the old switch intact?

lightningfingers

Did you notice inside the box, there are 2 pcb's? The first one (the one with the jacks on) is for switching and the associated circuit. There is a little plastic connector thingy that connects the leads rom the fx board to the switching circuit. You need to figure out which ones are effect in/out/ etc, and connect them to your mechanical bypass switch.