Small Acoustic Guitar Pre-amp and other questions

Started by John Egerton, October 07, 2004, 12:41:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

John Egerton

Hey guys, I was wondering if you could help me...

I am currently constructing a suped-up acoustic guitar for a live show and was wondering if you could answer some questions...

Does anyone know of a decent, small sized acoustic guitar preamp i could build? I intend to mount pots on the body...

Also... What is the etiquette about plugging an acoustic guitar into an electric guitar amplifier? Is it safe? or does it just sound bad without the proper circuity beforehand....

thanks...

John
Save a cow... Eat a Vegetarian.........

ryanscissorhands

First off, I am not an expert.

Having said that, acoustics CAN go through electric guitar amps, but it doesn't  do the guitar's sound justice like it would through an acoustic amp. In fact it's often better to go directly from the acoustic through to the PA system, which is why more acoustic pickup sustems now have an XLR out (XLR into mixer, out PA). You lose a lot of brightness going through your average guitar amp,. But it depends on what you need it for.

My other suggestion is one I got from "The Dude" at my local guitar shop--modding an amp. It works best with a 2x10 or 2x12 cabinet, but in the top "ass-groove) of the two speakers, you can cut out a small hole and install a tweeter in between, and then run a switch to the back of your amp. It really brightens up the sound, making it much more like an acoustic amplifier.

I've played through such a modded amp using an electric guitar that had an acoustic bridge, and it sounded AWESOME. So It was a fake acoustic, going through a fake acoustic amp, and it still sounded good. I'm going to get it done to my amp too. It costs about $100CDN ($72 US?) to get someone to do it.

JUST MAKE SURE TO TURN THE TWEETER OFF BEFORE YOU PUT ON DISTORTION, OR YOU'LL BLOW YOUR TWEETER!

Hope that helps.

Arn C.

John,