+15v and -15v regulated from 9V battery

Started by anagrama, October 20, 2004, 05:43:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

anagrama

Is it possible to get the sort of +15/-15V regulated power supply required for most synth circuits from a 9V  battery?  From looking at RG Keen's +9V *and* -9V from one battery and One 9V battery gives +18, +25, +33V  circuits I'd imagine it would be, but unfortunately, as a beginner, I don't posses the knowledge necessary to convert them into providing +15V/-15V regulated.  Can anyone tell me how to do this, or point me towards a suitable schematic?  Oh, and what does a "regulated" power supply actually mean?

ExpAnonColin

1) Wire up the 33v circuit
2) Wire a voltage divider (10k from the 33v, 10k to ground, 10uf cap to ground with the negative side to ground)
3) Use the output of this as ground in your circuit, the 33v as 16.5v+ and your real ground as -16.5v.  It's close.

-Colin

anagrama

thanks, that's a lot simpler than I thought it would be
...but
is it regulated? (whatever that means)

ExpAnonColin

Actually, an even better way to do that (on second thought) would be to feed the 16.5 volt output into a 15v regulator, which they do sell... then it would be 15v and regulated.  You'd be using the output from the divider as ground, remember.  Get a positive and a negative regulator, use the divider's output as ground, and then put ground through the input and at the output you'd have a good, regulated 15v out of one and a -15v out of the other.  I warn you I've never done this, can anyone verify?

-Colin

Samuel

if it's from a battery...i think so but I'm really not 100% sure.

regulated = delivers its nominal (listed) voltage (or close to it) regardless of how much current is being drawn. unregulated PSs can vary in voltage depending on load...

niftydog