New builds: Tycobrahe, Ross Compressor, Brown Sound

Started by snorky, November 01, 2004, 01:04:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

snorky

Tycobrahe Octavia - I built this a while ago, but reboxed it and added the no-octave option.  I'm really happy with the sound - the ring mod sounds are really interesting.  About the finish - I just started painting, sanding, and experimenting.   I think there's alot of potential there for interesting, unique boxes.  My skills don't really match my enthusiasm, but at least it doesn't look like anybody else's pedal!

Ross Compressor - This thing sounds great now with the proper cap values.  (I posted about this already.)  It's just primer and dymo, but I needed it for a gig.

Bennett Brown Sound - This was built around a PCB I bought from a forum member.  It sounds really good!  The reverse log pot really helps with evening out the distortion setting.  I tried using a ruling pen and stencils, but clearly more practice is needed.  I'm curious to see how it sounds compared to some ROG projects I'm anticipating.

My next project will be to box an Escobedo UglyFace.  (These are super cool, BTW!) And then, when I can gather the mental fortitude (and a bipolor power supply), I'm gonna build a Maestro S&H.

Thanks to everyone on this forum.  I've learned so much!

- Mark
Elephants are the new skulls.

cd

Snorky, do you have a complete Brown Sound schem to post?

snorky

I don't have a schem.  The Brown Sound is a modded Dist+.  If you dig around a bit here, you can find the difference - it's only 1 or 2 component changes.

- Mark
Elephants are the new skulls.

phillip

Quote from: cdSnorky, do you have a complete Brown Sound schem to post?

The Brown Sound is the same circuit as the MXR Distortion +...the IC is a LM741 and the clipping diodes are 1N270 Germanium.  There are only a couple or three small changes made to the circuit: