Power Supply Project questions.

Started by crawler486, November 22, 2004, 03:14:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

crawler486

i got 12 v 500ma transformer.
can i use a 1 ampere 250 volts bridge rectifier?

the transformer i got has 12v - 0 -  12v secondary taps.
can i get 2 isolated outputs out of these?

this is what i'm building
http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/index.php?option=content&task=view&id=78&Itemid=107

Many Thanks.

SnooP_Wiggles

the bridge rectifier should be fine. i'm not an expert but you should be able to get two isolated outputs from both taps.

crawler486

Thanks snoop.

I'd like to hear other opinion on my second question from others.
Anyone?

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

I don't know what you mean by "two isolated supplies".
If you mean a + and a - supply with a common ground,   yes, you can do that.
If you mean two + supplies with a common earth, yes.
If you mean "two supplies with nothing in common", then no.
What are you wanting to do wiht the supply?

crawler486

Quote from: Paul Perry (Frostwave)I don't know what you mean by "two isolated supplies".
If you mean a + and a - supply with a common ground,   yes, you can do that.
If you mean two + supplies with a common earth, yes.
If you mean "two supplies with nothing in common", then no.
What are you wanting to do wiht the supply?

I'm wanting to build a ps which will power 8 effects.
I'm thinking if I can get 2 outputs from a single transformer, then I only need to buy 4 of them to make 8.
From what I read in past posts, you need to cancel out noise
by giving each fx its own power source to avoid ground loop.
As what you said, since the two 12v would be sharing a common ground (0 center tap), then it would not yield an "isolated" output.

RDV