Super Axis Fuzz

Started by phillip, November 25, 2004, 04:26:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

phillip

Since the RM Axis Fuzz has stirred up some popularity here recently, I thought that I'd throw this circuit out there:

-The "Tweak" pot was brought up by members here
-The 10uF capacitor on the "Drive" pot reduces the octave-ness some
-The tone control section was added by John Greene
-The output gain recovery stage is from the Big Muff

Anyone want to try it out and see how it works? ;)

Phillip

brian wenz

Hello Phillip--
    You haven't built it yet??!  Dr. Frankenfuzz's revenge!
I hope the "50K pot" mod that I suggested awhile back doesn't create more problems then solving them.  When I started playing my modded Axis at band practice I noticed that I was plagued with "choice anxiety" and way too much knob twiddling.  In the end I settled for a 22K res in place of the 50K pot!
I'm really interested in building this one.............now I've got about 4 fuzzes on  the backburner  [see other threads....].
Brian.

b_rogers

wow that looks cool! as soon as i get mine biased right i am gonna try this one.  tone controls are good.... :)

Brent
homegrown, family raised couch potatoes. temperament unsurpassed.
http://electricladystaffs.com/

phillip

A while back I built it up to the tone control section...the volume pot was wired up right after the tone control.  It worked great, but the output was lower than I liked because of the loss through the tone control section.  I thought about adding the Big Muff's gain recovery stage, but I got distracted with other projects before I could.  Should work though :)

Phillip

Tubebass

Hey Phillip!
 Don't you need a DC path to ground from the emitter of Q1?
More dynamics????? I'm playing as loud as I can!

phillip

Quote from: TubebassHey Phillip!
 Don't you need a DC path to ground from the emitter of Q1?