Axis Face Silicon tranny readout

Started by Greg M., December 02, 2004, 10:57:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Greg M.

Yes, I read the "?" thread and see the point of the original poster, but personally I'm fairly new at this (agonized over a tube screamer and got lucky on Ross comp and Orange Squeezer) and need some guidance.  I've been poring over this Axis Face Silicon (Fuzz Central) for 3 evenings in a row, I've used a couple of different hookup plans, soldered and resoldered, and here I am with no sound at all coming out of this sucker.
Just to give me a kick in the right direction, could some of you previous builders take a look at my transistor readings to see if they look fishy?  Thanks a million.
Q1(2N3904): C=1.5, B=.41, E=0
Q2(PA2369A): C=4.6, B=1.5, E= .86
battery=9.4v

If you can think of anything I may have done wrong, I'd greatly appreciate the heads up.

Thanks,
Greg

ps:  I have learned a great deal from posting and reading posts on this forum.  I do have lots more to learn though (obviously) so thanks for your help and patience.

brian wenz

Hello Hello Greg--
    I mentioned this on the "Tonebender" thread yesterday 'cuz this has really kept me confused in the past........have you gone through the circuit and touched-up all the solder connections?  I know you said you resoldered but sometimes just one little cold joint stops everything in it's tracks.  With the readings that you posted you should be getting at least SOME noise.........are all the outputs going to the output and inputs going to the input???    
Just some thoughts...
Brian.

petemoore

Thumbprobing yesterday, I found a bad cap I'd used for the input to a Reamer build.
 I use it as an audio injector, thumb noise IMO is handy to have, I just connect it to the signal path, at points throughout the cct. I can usually find where the sound is getting lost this way.
 Or use an Audio sound injector or Audio Probe.
 I'm sure you've re-read the debugging pages///