debugging first fuzz face

Started by guitarmonky55, December 04, 2004, 06:30:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

guitarmonky55

ok folks, got it soldered up and got problems.(this one http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/easyface.pdf )

i built an audio probe to test it, and the signal is no longer there starting at the second leg of c2......now im a noob and dont really know what to look for.  i re did a few solder joints on the board, alot of them are on the messier side(mostly because i let a little too much solder flow, nothing terrible though).  would this be a powering problem or what sould i look for?[/url]

petemoore

Quote from: guitarmonky55ok folks, got it soldered up and got problems.(this one http://www.generalguitargadgets.com/diagrams/easyface.pdf )

i built an audio probe to test it, and the signal is no longer there starting at the second leg of c2......now im a noob and dont really know what to look for.  i re did a few solder joints on the board, alot of them are on the messier side(mostly because i let a little too much solder flow, nothing terrible though).  would this be a powering problem or what sould i look for?[/url]
C2 looks like it's the 'bottom input capacitor.
 What's the voltage on Q2 collector.
 You should be getting sound through the input section, be sure to turn that 250k pregain pot toward signal or just in the middle.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

guitarmonky55

i kind of......dont have a multimeter i was relying on the audio probe for debugging purposes...i dont have the cash to buy a multimeter either even a cheapo one.

i traced starting from the input and the signal works through the switch, the pot, and the wire coming from the pot.  i get to the board and right where the wire from the pregain pot goes to c2, it works.  i can stick the audio probe on the leg of c2 by the lead from pregain and i get a full signal.  jumping to the next part of the circuit...nada.