Quadrature Filter+Multiplier="Clean" Octave Up?

Started by lovekraft0, December 20, 2004, 04:01:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lovekraft0

I've been doing a lot of reading, here and elsewhere, and I need to know how much of the following is true:
If one implements a quadrature (Dome? Bode?) filter such that it outputs two identical signals with a relative phase relationship of 90º, and apply these outputs respectively to the X and Y inputs of a 4 quadrant multiplier, when a harmonically complex signal (ie, not a sine wave) is input, the multiplier's output will be a fairly faithful reproduction of the original signal at twice the frequency, with little or no non-harmonic content (a "clean" octave). Will it work - more specifically, if the input signal is steeply bandpassed in the optimal shift range of the quadrature filter, will the output be fairly musical? The math ( and I'm not very good at math, so I could be way wrong) appears to indicate that it will work. Any suggestions before I sail off into the darkness without a compass?  :D

puretube

with a sine, it`ll work! (IIRC...)

for all else: the trick is, to keep either X or Y at a constant level, to keep e2 (dunno how to write this - I`m not good in math, either...), i.e. quadratic distortions limited, or even don`t let`em get into the scheme...

(in the past, Paul Perry, others, and me have talked the subject before, so maybe "searching" will help you...

Paul Perry (Frostwave)

If you have a sine, and run it into both the X and the Y inputs of a multiplier, then you get a sine at twice the frequency. No need for the futzing with dome filters etc.

cos 2x = 1 - 2sin2 x
I think that is how it works, you actually get a constant term (blocked by the capacitor) and a cos instead of a sin, but what is a cos but a sine with a phase shift :wink: