News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

RAT trouble

Started by weston5952, January 15, 2005, 08:59:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

weston5952

I finsihed assembling a Rodent last weekend according to the layouts at GGG. I didn't work correctly and after much frustration took the advice of a member of this forum to take a few days off and come back to it. Well I'm back and I have triple checked my wiring and and everything seems to look good but it still does not work. To review this is what it does do when I hook everything up. When in bypass mode, the signal comes through nice and clean. The volume pot will turn the LED on and off (i find that really weird). When I switch the effect on, the LED comes on (it no longer responds to the volume pot) but no signal gets through. Last weekend I checked the traces with the audible continuity test on my multimeter and I didn't find anything that look suspicious. I am new to all of this circuit stuff so any sugestions are greatly appreciated. I will post some pics just incase anyone might be a ble to spot something that would be a problem. Please note that I did omit the 9v battery from the circuit and therefore used a mono jack for the input. Thanks for all of your time and help towards helping me to get this thing to work in advance.

The Rodent Layout

sir_modulus

Aight. This is where you Gutsify the pedal. Take off the fancy LED work, and just wire the input to the inpt jack, and the output to the output jack. No switch, no LED. Now I can see from just looking that one of those tracse looks cracked. Check for continuity between the traces before anything else. The trace that loooks cracked will be above the word "traces" in the last sentance.

Hope that helps,

Nish

weston5952

I'll try to "gutsify" the pedal and I will recheck the traces. Thanks for the help.

Peter Snowberg