1. slide switch; 2. wah enclosure

Started by dave h., January 18, 2005, 08:11:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dave h.

question one:
how does one create a hole in an enclosure that would allow installation of a slide switch, for example:

im new at this, but i can guess they dont have drill bits that magically drill square holes. and i ain't about to get tricky with my hacksaw...

question two:
does anyone sell wah enclosures?

petemoore

Well I did it with a drill and a file, using side cutters to finish the lines between the holes, then filing it to squard....alot of work, not recommended.
 What is recommended, is a device that looks like pliers with 45 degree and cut blade[s in the jaw [like one corner]. hopefully someone else can lead you to. It cuts the square corners in a drilled hole [ I should think if the metal isn't too thick or hard],,,never tried one, reports are that they work good tho...I'ts what I'd look for...but I don't know where...hopefully someone else will chime in before too long.
Convention creates following, following creates convention.

MartyB

Drill the corners with a smaller, say 1/8" bit, then 'dremel' out the middle with a dremel cutoff wheel..  If you're careful and center-punch the outline of the switch, you can drill the entire opening by chaining drill spots together.  You'll stllp need to file the hole into square/rectangle.
Martyb
Ah, Pete beat me to the post.

sir_modulus

hmm....that's an odd switch for a wah enclosure.... I usually use toggle switches....all the same: USE REINFORCED CUTOFF WHEELS IF USING DREMEL!!! The normal ones just break...and fly all over the place, on jobs this tough...

Cheers,

Nish

dave h.

Quote from: sir_modulushmm....that's an odd switch for a wah enclosure.... I usually use toggle switches....all the same: USE REINFORCED CUTOFF WHEELS IF USING DREMEL!!! The normal ones just break...and fly all over the place, on jobs this tough...

Cheers,

Nish