Rotary switch question: how to "lock" in certain p

Started by mrsage, January 20, 2005, 08:29:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrsage

I have a relative newbie question...

I've never worked with rotary switches before, but in my experience they're usually "locked" to certain positions. For instance, if you have a 7-position rotary switch, it's usually only wired up for 3 or 4 of the positions.

Case in point:

I just got a used Lovetone Meatball for an absolute steal of a price. The only thing wrong is that several of the switches don't have the stoppers on them to keep them from going out of position. Add to that the fact that the chickenhead knobs are all a bit off, and you're left with a pedal that you're never sure is set correctly.

I can mess with it and get everything set correctly. Then I can adjust the chickenhead knobs so that they're positioned properly.

But how do I fix it so that the rotary switches don't go beyond their intended positions? Is this something simple, or would it require new switches?

niftydog

depends on the type of rotary switch. Most that I've encountered have a removable ring with a tab which can be inserted into the switch several ways. Basically you set it up so that it stops the switch at the pole that you want to be the last one.
niftydog
Shrimp down the pants!!!
“It also sounded something like the movement of furniture, which He
hadn't even created yet, and He was not so pleased.” God (aka Tony Levin)

sir_modulus

I just went down and looked, and all my old ones use a little post that goes into teh switch, and mechanically stops movement.

Hope that helps,

Nish

mrsage

Man those rotary switches are a pain in the ass.