problems with my wiring

Started by mrfjones, January 25, 2005, 11:11:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrfjones

I am working on a couple different pedals, i am new to this and i really don't understand what all i am doing, or in this case doing wrong.  first i tried making a "bazz fuzz".  i added two germanium diodes in the place of the silicon. when i tested the circuit it read that i was getting good voltage throughout the circuit, but with the transistor in place, i got no sound.  i took the output and moved it from the collector to the base and bypassed the transistor (it is socketed and out at this point)  i got to hear the sound of the guitar distorted but not amplified at all.  What could i have been doing wrong.  my circuit even looks like the schematic, except for the other diode.  my solder joints are good and strong, i took the socket out and tried wiring the transistor straight to the circuit. but i still get nothing.  I get no output at all when switched on.  what can i test or what can i try?  I am having the same issue with a rangemaster clone

MartyMart

That sounds like a "pinout" problem to me, I've had similar problems..... so you need to search the forum for "pinout" or the number on your transistor/download the data sheet for your transistor, from the manufacturer... yes they are often different !
It's a bummer, but that will prevent the circuit from working at all.
Your Ge diode subs will work, but will cause the circuit to "clip" sooner but it should sound a bit "sweeter" with Ge, make sure you have the "cathode/anode" the right way around too.
Cheers,
Marty. 8)
"Success is the ability to go from one failure to another with no loss of enthusiasm"
My Website www.martinlister.com

petemoore

I used to measure every resistor and count connections at every node while populating a board. This lowered build/debug time.
 While debugging...