News:

SMF for DIYStompboxes.com!

Main Menu

multimeters!

Started by Rodgre, January 31, 2005, 12:00:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rodgre

This might end up as the most controversial and obnoxious thing I've ever posted on the internet, but here goes.

If you are interested enough in DIY stompbox to be frequenting this forum, interested enough to go out and buy yourself a soldering iron... to actually have Small Bear bookmarked in your list of favorites, you NEED A METER.

I feel that once I graduated from just fixing guitar cables with my humongus Weller soldering GUN, to actually doing pedals, I immediately needed a meter.  Even when I was fixing cables, I still needed a meter.

Even if it's a simple continuity tester, and not a fancy one that tests capacitors or hfe, it's one of the crucial tools to doing DIY.

So take stock. If you look at your workbench (or kitchen table, as it was when I started) and there is no meter, before you go out and order some more 5088s, get yourself a meter!!!! You will wonder how you ever lived without it!

End of rant.

Roger

R.G.

I could not agree more.

Building effects - or doing anything electronic - without a meter is fundamentally shortsighted. There is no real hope of getting anything other than a Heathkit style paint-by-the-numbers kit built and running without a meter.
R.G.

In response to the questions in the forum - PCB Layout for Musical Effects is available from The Book Patch. Search "PCB Layout" and it ought to appear.

Dirk_Hendrik

Measuring means knowing. Without a multimeter you'll always be blind and will often he to resort to luck. Pretty often you;ll not be lucky in those cases.

However, there's a step 2, which is easily taken: You'll need to know the difference between AC and DC voltages and currents and you'll need to know the difference between kilo and mega ohms. Souds simple but there's a lot of people I met who do own a multimeter but don't have a clue how and what to measure.